Ministry capacity development

SWALIM formalized partnerships with six key ministries responsible for water, land and environment (three each for Somaliland and Puntland) in December 2005 and established Inter-Ministerial Coordination Committees (IMCC) in the two regions to bring together the different ministries under unified coordination bodies. The IMCCs were later renamed Regional Coordination Committees (RCCs). The membership of the RCC includes three members (Minister, Director General and Technical focal person) from each ministry represented, the SWALIM Chief Technical Advisor and the SWALIM Liaison Office manager. The RCCs help guide SWALIM’s work and play a key role in defining the capacity development programme. Each of the more recent phases of the SWALIM project has started with inputs from the RCCs, which largely define the results for the phase.

The Somaliland line ministries are:

  • Ministry of Environment and Rural Development
  • Ministry of Agriculture
  • Ministry of Water Resources

The Puntland line ministries are:

In Mogadishu, SWALIM is currently formalizing a similar structure with the ministries responsible for water and land resources management. The ministries that SWALIM will partner with are:

  • Ministry of Agriculture
  • Ministry of Electricity and Water